Williams Foundation

Williams Foundation Board

The Sir Richard Williams Foundation conducts its operations independently and has no political or industry ties.

The Foundation's activities are directed by its Board. The Board welcomes participation from the broad cross-section of the Australian community. Groups wishing to comment on issues relevant to the Foundation's objectives are encouraged to contact the Board. Individuals are invited to join the Foundation; see the home page.

The Board comprises eminent aerospace leaders and security strategists.  Other service organisations, the RAAF Association, Army Aviation Association and the Fleet Air Arm Association are affiliated with the Foundation.

The Foundation's activities are directed and managed by its Board. The Board comprises up to 12 eminent aerospace leaders, security strategists and an Executive Officer.  Members' business affiliations are listed in their biographies.  Members are required to absent themselves from any discussion which might create a conflict of interest.

Air Marshal Geoff Brown AO (Retd)

Geoff Brown joined the RAAF in February 1980 after completing an Engineering degree.
He graduated from No.111 Pilots' Course in 1981 and was initially posted to 12SQN Amberley to fly Chinooks.  After three years at 12SQN he was posted to 2FTS Pearce and spent 18 months as a Flying Instructor before being posted to Central Flying School (CFS) East Sale in 1986.  While at CFS he was a member of the Roulettes aerobatic display team, from 1987-89.  He led the last Macchi team before they transitioned to the PC-9.

In 1990, he was posted to Williamtown for a Hornet conversion and then completed a short tour at 77SQN.  On promotion to SQNLDR in 1991, he was posted to 75SQN Tindal as a Flight Commander.  In 1993, Geoff was then posted to 77SQN as Executive Officer.  He completed RAAF Staff College in 1995 and was subsequently posted to Headquarters Air Command as Staff Officer Operational Evaluation.

From 1997 to 2000, Geoff Brown commanded No.3 Squadron.  He then completed F-111 conversion and assumed the position of Officer Commanding No.82 Wing in December 2000.  In 2003 he commanded all F/A-18 and C-130 operations in Operation Iraqi Freedom and was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia and a Legion of Merit for his service in the operation. 

He was Officer Commanding Airborne Early Warning and Control Systems Program Office from June 2003 until December 2004 and spent 2005 at the Centre for Defence and Strategic Studies. 
He then commanded Air Combat Group throughout 2006.  From Jan 2007 until Jun 2008 he was Director-General Capability Planning in Air Force Headquarters.  He was the Deputy Chief of Air Force from 30 June 2008 to 3 Jul 2011.

Air Marshal Brown was appointed Chief of Air Force on the 4 July 2011 and served in that role until July 2015. He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) during his term as Chief of the Air Force.

He is currently Chairman of the Sir Richard Williams Foundation, Chairman of Advisory Board for CAE Asia/Pacific,  Director of Lockheed Martin Australia , Director of Electro-Optic Systems and Principal of GCB Stratos Consulting.

He lives in Canberra with his wife and his two sons.  His main sporting passion is Sailplane racing.


Air Marshal Errol J. McCormack AO (Retd)
Deputy Chair

Errol McCormack retired from the Royal Australian Air Force in June 2001 as Chief of Air Force. Since his retirement from the RAAF he has established a company providing consultancy services for companies working with the Australian Department of Defence.

He is the Non-executive Chairman of Chemring Australia Pty Ltd, a countermeasures and pyrotechnic manufacturing company based in Victoria, Non-executive Director of Quickstep Holdings Pty Ltd, a composite manufacturing company based in Fremantle and consults for Chemring Group PLC and General Electric Military Engines. His pro-bono work includes Chairman of the Board of the Sir Richard Williams Foundation, a think tank supporting development of Australian military aviation policy and a Member of the Board of the Registry of Security Professionals. He is a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Other Board Members

Mr John Conway

Ms Amanda Holt

Mr Ian Irving

Group Captain David Millar (Secretary)

Mr Ken Moore (Treasurer)

Ms Nicole Quinn

Air Vice-Marshal Brian Weston (Retd)

Ms Katherine Ziesing

The Williams Foundation, PO Box 5266, KINGSTON ACT 2604

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software